An analysis of why 'Insurgency' weapons in first-person sound a bit better than the ones in 'Insurgency Sandstorm'

I know there are more pressing matters for the development team to work on currently, but since I work in game audio I thought I could add my two cents about the sound of the game. When I started playing Sandstorm, I noticed right away that there are some major improvements to the sound of the game, like the way the gun sounds change in regards to distance and environment. But if we listen to the direct gun sound that you hear in first-person, the guns don't sound good as they do in the previous Insurgency game. You might think "no, the Sandstorm guns sound better!". They do in some ways, certainly, but let me explain why for the long haul, the direct gun sound in the original Insurgency serves it's purpose better. Nothing big, but i'll do my best to explain the differences and why they matter for gameplay and player feedback.

For demonstration purposes, I've recorded five different weapons from Sandstorm and the previous game. You can find the recordings here (excuse the occasional other sounds in the recordings): https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1bVq2ZOvRHeR5s8ApfL5RlA0vi5jf6IgR?usp=sharing

The weapons being compared are the AK-47, M4, AK-47U, SKS and Mosin. I picked these relatively randomly.The volume settings are the same, and I did not change anything in the recordings and it's always fired by me in first person. Let's listen.

AK-47

What I immediately noticed here, is that the Sandstorm AK sounds like it was fired by someone else, approximately 20 meters away. The AK from the previous game sounds much closer, and more like a gun that you are actually firing yourself.