I had logged in and collected my banner, yielding 5K scrap. I promptly dropped another banner and logged out to go to work. Later I logged back in and my new banner had completed yielding 4,900 scrap, but that 4,900 became my new total, appearing to have made me lose the previous 5k scrap I had.